Rhode Island Woods

Your online resource for RI woodlots information

Tree Identification

Click on any scientific name to see a detailed PDF about that tree.

Common Name Scientific Name Photo
Alder, Speckled Alnus incana ssp. rugosa Alder_speck
Apple Malus spp. Apple
Ash, Black Fraxinus nigra Ash_black
Ash, Green Fraxinus pennsylvanica Ash_green
Ash, White Fraxinus americana ash_white
Aspen, Bigtooth Populus grandidentata aspen_bigtooth
Aspen, Trembling Populus tremuloides aspen_trem
Basswood Tilia americana basswood
Beech, American Fagus grandifolia beech_am
Birch, black Betula lenta birch_black
Birch, gray Betula populifolia birch_grey
Birch, paper Betula papyrifera birch_paper
Birch, yellow Betula alleghaniensis birch_yellow
Blackgum Nyssa sylvatica blackgum
Blueberry, Highbush Vaccinium corymbosum blueberry_high
Cedar, Atlantic white Chamaecyparis thyoides cedar_atwhi
Cedar, Eastern red Juniperus virginiana cedar_easred
Cedar, Northern white Thuja occidentalis cedar_nowhi
Cherry, Black Prunus serotina cherry_black
Cherry, Choke Prunus virginiana cherry_choke
Cherry, Fire Prunus pensylvanica cherry_fire
Chestnut, American Castanea dentata chestnut_am
Chestnut, Horse Aesculus hippocastanum chestnut_horse
Cottonwood,
Eastern
Populus deltoides cottonwood
Dogwood, Alternate-­leaf Cornus alternifolia dogwood_alt
Dogwood, Flowering Cornus florida dogwood_flow
Dogwood, Gray Cornus racemosa dogwood_grey
Dogwood, Red-­‐osier Cornus sericea dogwood_redo
Dogwood, Silky Cornus amomum dogwood_silk
Elm, American Ulmus americana elm_am
Elm, Slippery Ulmus rubra elm_slip
Euonymous, Winged Euonymus alatus euonymous_win
Hemlock, Eastern Tsuga canadensis hemlock_eas
Hickory, Bitternut Carya cordiformis hickory_bit
Hickory, Pignut Carya glabra hickory_pig
Hickory, Shagbark Carya ovata hickory_shag
Holly, American Ilex opaca holly_am
Holly, winterberry Ilex verticillata holly_winter
Hophornbeam, Eastern Ostrya virginiana hophornbeam
Hornbeam, American Carpinus caroliniana hornbeam_am
Larch, European Larix decidua larch_eur
Larch, Japanese Larix kaempferi larch_jap
Larch, Tamarack Larix laricina Tamarack
Laurel, Mountain Kalmia latifolia laurel_moun
Locust, Black Robinia pseudoacacia locust_black
Locust, Honey-­‐ Gleditsia triacanthos locust_honey
Maple, Red Acer rubrum maple_red
Maple, Silver Acer saccharinum maple_silver
Maple, Striped Acer pensylvanicum maple_strip
Maple, Sugar Acer saccharum maple_sugar
Maple, Sycamore Acer pseudoplatanus maple_syc
Oak, Black Quercus velutina oak_black
Oak, Chestnut Quercus prinus oak_chest
Oak, Northern Red Quercus rubra oak_nored
Oak, Scarlet Quercus coccinea oak_scar
Oak, Scrub Quercus berberidifolia oak_scrub
Oak, Swamp White Quercus bicolor oak_swampwhi
Oak, White Quercus alba oak_whi
Pine, Eastern White Pinus strobus pine_easwhite
Pine, Pitch Pinus rigida pine_pitch
Pine, Red Pinus resinosa pine_red
Pine, Scotch Pinus sylvestris pine_scotch
Poison Ivy Toxicodendron radicans poison_ivy
Poison Sumac Toxicodendron vernix poison_sum
Poplar, Tulip Liriodendron tulipifera poplar_tul
Sassafras Sassafras albidum sassafras
Serviceberry/Shadbush Amelanchier sp. shad
Spicebush Lindera benzoin spice
Spruce, Black Picea mariana spruce_black
Spruce, Norway Picea abies spruce_nor
Spruce, White Picea glauca spruce_white
Sumac, Smooth Rhus glabra sumac_smo
Sumac, Staghorn Rhus typhina sumac_stag
Sweet Pepperbush Clethra alnifolia sweet_pep
Sycamore, American Platanus occidentalis syca_am
Vibernum, Mapleleaf Viburnum acerifolium viber_map
Walnut, Black Juglans nigra walnut_black
Walnut, Butternut Juglans cinerea walnut_butt
Willow Salix sp. willowsp
Willow, Weeping Salix babylonica willow_we
Witch Hazel Hamamelis virginiana witch_hazel
Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2017 University of Rhode Island.